Poem: Ice-water

So soon the tendrils
of winter fade
trickling away together

Their touch once froze
ambition’s smile
now they’re lost
to warm weather

I thought it easy
to reach beyond

I thought it easy
to leave here

The longer the frost
remained in my home

The longer I knew
I’d be trapped there.

So here’s to the melting
of winter’s long fingers

Here’s to the melting
Ice-water

Here’s to the end
of cold’s long reign

And here’s to the Spring
of next year.


© December 2022 Sam Oliver (Eris of Discord)


Just a short poem piece I wanted to write. Was feeling inspired when I woke up.

Haha. I know Winter isn’t actually ending. This is just climate change providing a comfortable shift up to 40F!

But a winter of the heart is ending for me– a winter of the heart and the head kinda crept around me the past few months (maybe a year or so now) and kept a stranglehold on me. I’ve been in recovery over the last year, struggling to find a way forward, and now after running back and forth between a bunch of different doctors and doing a dozen different tests and starting and stopping a bunch of projects, I finally feel like I’m making forward progress again.

So I know that’s not permanent, but it’s a start, and I wanted to write about it. The words came out naturally. Hope y’all enjoy or that it brings some meaning for you, too. One step at a time, we’re headed forward.

Love,
Eris (Sam Oliver)

Leave a Reply or Review